Becoming Less Basic

-Urban Dictionary, the most reliable of sources
-Urban Dictionary (the most reliable of sources)

I was raised to be a very cultured person. I played the violin, I took ballet lessons, I was expected to read books and keep up with current events. My parents gave me all of the tools I needed to become a unique, thoughtful, and informed person.

And then I went to college.

“You can do anything you want in college,” they say. “You should explore all your options,” they say. Or if you’re like me, you can join a few clubs and spend the rest of your time talking about all the cool things you wish you were doing. As I start my final semester at the school of my dreams, I am faced with the reality that I have done very little to expand my horizons during my time in Chapel Hill. I spend my free time watching Gilmore Girls and taking Buzzfeed quizzes. I get my news from the Skimm, a slightly crass email news service — and I don’t even read THAT every day. I’ve been to two concerts in college, and you don’t even want to know who the artists were (okay fine… Taylor Swift and Aaron Carter).

I have become, for lack of a better word, basic. I even have the Uggs to prove it.

And so I will spend my last few months of semi-freedom (before I go off into the Great Unknown that is post-grad life) trying to become a more cultured, sophisticated person. I want to go to concerts, shows, art museums, and indie films. I want to do more than that, though. I want to read New York Times’ bestsellers, go to obscure sporting events, develop more mature coffee tastes (because nothing screams “basic” quite like ordering a nonfat skinny mocha frap).

I’m a pretty honest person, so I’ll go ahead and put it out there: I mostly started this blog for a class. I’m required to write twice a week, but I’m still going to try to keep my journey as real as possible. If you (whoever you are) have any ideas for me, please send them my way!

Honestly, I’m just trying to become less basic.

2 thoughts on “Becoming Less Basic

  1. Stuart says:

    hello becca. i saw an ad (tweet) for your blog and i thought i would check it out. seems pretty cool. can’t wait to follow your endeavors! love, your appreciative and admiring sister.

    Like

Leave a Reply

