I’m just too busy being sophisticated to care about sports

Not gonna lie, I had a pretty basic week (my Aziz viewing was totally a cop-out…). Keeping up with becoming more interesting/sophisticated/intellectual is difficult when you’re busy keeping up with school/internship/trying-desperately-to-find-a-job. Anyway, I think I more than made up for my dud of a week with my INSANELY UNBASIC WEEKEND.

If you saw my last blog post, you know that I went to a documentary for my uncle’s project, Bull City Summer, on Friday. The project itself was awesome: they put together a team of immensely talented photographers, unleashed them on the Durham Bulls stadium, and gave them no guidelines. Needless to say, the end result was an amazing display of photography and writing centered around the fans and goings-on of one minor league baseball season.

image4

The documentary, directed by Ivan Weiss, is a fascinating exploration of the creative processes of these photographers. I didn’t know what to expect when I went to see the film (I was really just there as a supportive niece), but what I saw blew me away. The documentary excels in every aspect — the gorgeous cinematography, the use of still photos interwoven with film, the unexpected music choices — but the real value lies in Weiss’ ability to provide an authentic inside look into the thought processes of the photographers. If I’m being honest, I’ve never fully considered photography to be an artistic endeavor. Sure, it takes a keen eye to get the right shot, but you can slap a filter on almost anything today to make it pretty. This documentary, however, really made me aware of the aesthetic and emotional choices photographers make every time they approach a subject.

All in all, the documentary screening was well worth the trip to Durham. My first trip to Nana Taco sure didn’t hurt either.

Catherine and me outside my future office (look out, Pat!)
Just chilling outside my future office (look out, Pat!)

On Saturday, a few of my friends and I took a quick trip down the road to Raleigh to get some good food and check out the Capitol building. I’m pretty sure I haven’t been to this part of Raleigh since middle school when NC cut our field trip budget (thx a lot for that, by the way). We spent the day exploring our state’s legislative branch, brushing up our political knowledge, and planning out my path to the presidency (that last part might have only been me… I can’t be sure). We also made a pit stop in France (aka Lafayette Village aka the best part of Raleigh) for vanilla lattes and Nutella waffles (aka heaven on a plate). This really shaped up to be a productive and unbasic weekend.

And then I spent the whole Super Bowl bashing ads, critiquing the uniforms, and actively not watching the game itself. Baby steps, right?

tumblr_mrh4run1o41rfimo0o2_400

P.S. I apologize for the lack of snark in this post. As it turns out, it’s a lot harder for me to be funny when I actually enjoy things (is that a bad sign?). Oh well. Next time I’ll go to a poetry slam or modern art show…

Leave a Reply

