An Ode to Running (or nah)

This week, my sorority (am I basic enough for ya?) has been working on our upcoming Shamrock n’ Run 5K nonstop. We yell at people in the pit, tweet incessantly, beg our friends to buy shirts (seriously though hit me up if you want one), and host hot-dog-themed benefit nights. As a senior, we have the “privilege” of getting to run in the race instead of working the event on race day. Everyone is so excited to run the 5K, and I’m over here like…

britney-confused-gif

You’ve probably heard of the term “runner’s high.” I’m here to tell you about a lesser-known phenomenon: the runner’s low.

The runner’s low is what happens when a girl who thought she was fit because she does Zumba a lot tries to go for a jog.

At some point during childhood, almost everyone learns how to run. I, however, quit sports when I was 10 years old and never looked back. I’ve always held a firm belief that sports are for people who secretly hate themselves.

31744_1464139888712_2440848_n
This is me in a tutu looking confused a long time ago. #glorydays

Plus, nobody’s about to go for a jog in pointe shoes.

A few months ago, I decided to sign up for a different 5K with some of my friends. We all agreed that we were going to walk the course (and thus have a lovely time). As we arrived at the race, one of my annoyingly fit friends suggested that we run the first mile.

Note: I have not run a mile since 9th grade P.E. 

Not wanting to walk alone or waste the $20 I spent on my t-shirt and runner bag, I begrudgingly agreed to run the first mile (AND NO MORE). So we ran the first mile and BOY was I proud of myself for not passing out or throwing up.

“Phew, that’s over. Now we can walk!” I thought. And then everything was wonderful as we headed up the hill in Gimghoul Circle. Just chatting, laughing, having a grand ole time.

Until THEY ALL STARTED RUNNING AGAIN. It was like they used some sort of twisted telepathy to tell each other to pick up the pace (did I mention I had bronchitis? Because I did).

Here’s something you should know about me: I do not do things I hate. And I hate running. So I did not do it. I walked home from there (honestly probably ended up walking more than a 5K) and fumed in my room for like 10 minutes…

0245e-wednesday

…and then we all had pancakes and everything was right in the world. So I didn’t lose any friends THAT time, but who’s to say I won’t if I try to run next week?

Which leads me to my conclusion: Although I wouldn’t run this 5K under any circumstances (unless those circumstances involved, say, receiving $100 at the finish line), YOU should! Or you can walk it with me… I’ll probably be the one holding up the rear.

Even if you absolutely abhor running, Shamrock is an awesome event that benefits the Durham Center for Child and Family Health and Prevent Child Abuse America. Check out our Facebook event page to learn more!

Leave a Reply

