Hey! I actually did something cool!

Before the Snowpocalypse started tonight, my friend Carson and I went to see Alvin Ailey perform at Memorial Hall. If you’ve never heard of Alvin Ailey, they’re basically a group of genetically-modified dancing-robot-humans created to bring joy and amazement to the world. Needless to say, they’re pretty awesome.

Alvin.Ailey.Dance.Theater.Andrew.psppnikem

An Alvin Ailey show is more than just a dance performance, it’s a celebration of the human body. The dancers are by far the most fit people I’ve ever seen in my life. At any given time, there were at least 20 abs on the stage (even during the solos).

The true talent of Alvin Ailey’s dancers isn’t just that they’re incredibly strong or graceful. I think my sister put it best: “The first time I saw them I just felt like I’d never seen anyone so happy to be dancing.”

9372211-large

Alvin Ailey’s most famous piece, Revelations, is so wonderfully joyful that it’s impossible not to smile while watching. It makes you want to get up and dance along… but also run to church ASAP.

Don’t believe me? Just watch. (see what I did there?)

Leave a Reply

